Here are the categories for the 2021 Jacksonville Image Awards

It’s less than a month until the 2021 Jacksonville Image Awards, presented by the Porter Firm. So while you wait for the winners to be announced on February 27th, now is a good time to familiarize yourself with the categories to be won this year.

RELATED: Meet Your 2021 Jacksonville Image Awards Finalists

The ‘Be The Change’ award: This award is given to people who, despite immense adversity, announce change and prosperity in order to improve and enrich the world. They overcome obstacles to show that social change is possible through hard work and humility. Last year’s winner was Donte Palmer, who launched the #SquattingForChange campaign.


The Pinnacle Award: This award, presented by the Porter Firm, honors people who have achieved professional achievements over a long career and who serve as role models for others to achieve similar successes. Last year’s winner was Nicole Thomas, president of Baptist Medical Center South.

The ‘One To Watch’ award: This award, which is presented by Johnson & Johnson Vision, recognizes people who quickly establish themselves and make an impact in their respective field or industry. Last year’s winner was Taylor Richardson, a student and philanthropist popularly known as the Astronaut StarBright.


The Music Excellence Award: This award is given to individuals for their exceptional achievements in music who have had a tremendous impact with their creative works that have helped shape the local music scene. Last year’s winner was Moses Evans, a tape teacher at Kipp Impact Middle School.

The Innovator Award: This award, presented by the VyStar Credit Union, is given to individuals who creatively challenge the norm by introducing mainstream culture into avant-garde ideas and making social impacts in their respective industries. Last year’s winner was Victor Chrispin Jr., director of the Black Male Explorer program at Edward Waters College.


The Education Excellence Award: This award recognizes outstanding commitment to the academic development and improvement of a system or community in order to improve the lives of future generations. Last year’s winner was Deborah Mosley Norman.

The Trailblazer Award: This award honors pioneers who inspire others to follow their path to greatness with innovative ideas that question the status quo. Last year’s winner was Patricia Gillum Sams, a community leader who served on the Black Expo Board and United Way.

Copyright 2021 by WJXT News4Jax – All rights reserved.

Comments are closed.